PostMormon.org has come to Idaho Falls

Yesterday’s front page of the Post Register carried the picture and news.

The caption under the front page picture says, “We are not anti-Mormon.  It is not our intent to belittle others,”  says Jeff Ricks of PostMormon.org, seen in front of one of his organization’s billboards on the north edge of Idaho Falls along U.S. Highway 20 on Tuesday.

Phil Davidson of the Post Register reports:

Roughly 3 percent of the world’s 12.8 million Mormons live in Idaho, yet there’s little support here for those who are thinking of leaving the church and are in search of advice.

Because of the Internet, that is starting to change.

The Web site www.postmormon.org, which began in 2002 as an online community of former members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, has seen its Web traffic grow from 50 hits a day to 120,000 a day in a matter of five years.  In May, the Web site had 3 million hits, said Jeff Ricks, executive manager of the registered nonprofit.  Recently publicity in the Deseret Morning News and other billboards account for the spike, Ricks believes.

Postmormon.org has 15 chapters throughout the world in which former members and those considering resigning from the church typically meet once a week to discuss how the impact of leaving affects all aspects of their lives.  There are chapters as far away as Australia, but none in Idaho.

Ricks said he expects one to be up and running in Idaho falls within the next few months.  He hopes a billboard advertising the site, erected two weeks ago on U.S. Highway 20 just north of Idaho Falls, will attract interest.

I believe this will happen.

But Ricks wants everyone to hear this disclaimer:

“We are not out to attack the church,” said Ricks, a great-great-grandson of Thomas Ricks, the namesake of Ricks College.

The postMormon community is growing along Idaho/Utah I-15, and I long to share with them the Christ of John’s Gospel who is uncomparable to the earthly general authorities and patriarchal leaders of the corridor.  To see the difference is true freedom.

13 comments

  1. That would be the same John who, in his epistles, castigated dissenters from his own early Christian congregations? Those Christian dissenters no doubt had their own gripe clubs to complain about how fraudulent and controlling those early Christians were (that’s borrowed from a comment by Tal Bachman at the postmormon site). I’m sure they got together to help navigate their “transition” to whatever Gnostic, pagan, or popular cult they moved on to following their foray with orthodox Christianity.

    I’m not saying those who choose to exit the LDS Church can’t get together and share each other’s pain, whether in person or online. But you can’t take the content of that sort of organized griping at face value. Have you actually read some of the conversations at the postmormon site? And do you think sincere expressions of Christian faith of the sort you obviously profess are welcome there or at other ex-Mormon sites?

  2. Dave, has the apostle John asked you or I anywhere in scripture to look to him and trust him as an inspired and spirit-filled leader moving to godhood?

    I think the apostle John makes the answer to this question clear by bringing in the witness of John the Baptist at the beginning of the gospel. John and Jesus are not even close to being in the same category.

    The undercurrent in the corridor of expectant trust in the LDS apostles and prophet is huge . . . on the same par with my trust in inspired scripture.

    People are looking to the LDS living prophet and apostles as if they were God’s representation on earth. But these LDS leaders are rebellious sinners and full of shortcomings just like everyone else. In the corridor, when people give up on LDS leaders because of the follies and inconsistencies they see, they give up on the Christian view of God. It is extremely grevious to me.

    Yes, they won’t welcome me because their communities are not about lifting up Christ. My faith is the sheer contrast. I believe in God who declares absolutes. They are angry at this conception. So it makes heart ministry to post-Mormons extremely difficult.

    But a post-modern vacuum can only be satisfying for so long to those sincerely searching. When a hurting individual is on the operating table and need of surgery for healing, the last thing he wants is a hundred different equal theories and interpretations.

    I cling to the fact that God can do a mighty work of regeneration among any of the troubled hearts in the corridor.

  3. There’s obviously some backstory I’m missing here. I was responding to the postmormon.org angle, which, since you are highlighting it in your post, I assumed you have some sympathy with. I didn’t even catch your allusion to “general authorities and patriarchal leaders of the corridor” the first time through, and I’m still not sure what you’re getting at.

    I suspect the ex-LDS who you get to know because they become involved with your congregation are different than those who are featured (or who feature themselves) at the ex- or post-Mormon sites. It would be interesting to hear your own experience.

  4. Yes, ex-LDS in my assembly are very different.

    Christ is everything to them.

    Dave, at the moment, I am tied up with weekend ministry and a pastoral conference next Monday-Wednesday, but let me get back with you and try to frame a little bit better some of my own experience.

    Have a good weekend.

  5. I attend Todd’s church and have many experiences with ex-LDS that have come to Christ. They are not bitter towards the LDS church they are just saddened that so many people they loved are still blinded and do not know the truth. Christ is their everything and they wholly depend on him to help them through whatever consequenses arise from leaving the LDS church.

  6. I am a former Mormon (from a Mormon pioneer family) who 24 years after I left Mormonism found and fell in love with Jesus Christ. After I was Born-again, Jesus took all my bitterness away, and I am saddened that all but 3 of my relatives remain in the darkness of deception, thinking that someday if they stay Mormons they might earn their way to heaven.

    God tells us in many places in the Bible that all of us are lost sinners, unable to redeem ourselves, and that all of our righteous works are like filthy rags. No one is righteous, no not one……………until we are washed clean by the blood of Jesus.

    That doesn’t mean that we need to know about Jesus, that the name of our church needs to have Jesus in its name, or that we need to work our way to heaven. It means we need to accept our own sinful nature, that we sin and cannot be reconciled to God by any of our works. but only through the righteous of Jesus Christ.

    Well, Jesus has made all the difference in my life as I feel the joy of His salvation and as He opens the way He wants me to go step by step. He is faithful and true. No church, no human organization, and no human “prophet” can possibly be faithful. They will always fail at some point. That is why I put my faith and trust in Jesus Christ alone, in the Bible alone.
    Praying for the same for my Mormon family and friends,
    Edy M.
    Los Angeles

  7. I was raised mormon. My parents were and still are very faithful members. I believed in the church, because it was all I knew. I was raised around a very Mormon poputalion. I never thought to question what I was being taught.

    As a child I was quite bothered by the image of God I was taught. A God that was once a man, with multiple wives, who I felt was very conditional in his love for me dependent on my good behavior.

    My parents taught me that humanity is born perfect, and that we can choose to never sin. Because of that belief I always felt that there was something wrong with me, I couldn’t understand why I seemed to mess up all the time.
    This behavior caused me to downward spiral and drift away from the God I knew. I wasn’t worthy to pray and felt like God had left me.

    Some years into it the true and living God finally caught me and opened my eyes to the lies that the mormon church are based on. In that long researched discovery I was shown truth. I met for the first time Jesus Christ. A very different Jesus than the one I was raised with. Not my older brother, or the brother of Satan I was taught of in my youth.
    Jesus is God in the flesh, the only one worthy enough to pay for my sins completely. Not something that I can earn because I am good enough, but something that is truly a free gift because HE is good enough. God’s faithfulness is not dependent on mine!!

    I have never felt more freedom and joy than I feel now that I have found truth. My heart aches for thoes still lost in the lies of mormonism and the impossible expectation of achieved perfection. God is good and he is able to replace the lies with truth for any that are willing to seek and ask.

  8. Cassie, Edy, and Cindy,

    Welcome to HI4LDS. Thankyou.

    I have just spent the last three days up in the mountains, focusing on God. My mind is one big swirl. I am dazzled by God.

    There needs to be a lot of discussion in the days ahead in the I-15 corridor about what is true about God — Father, Son, and Spirit.

    Thinking of heart issues . . .

  9. Hey, Todd!
    I am Tasha and I am a former Mormon. I have shared my testimony of Christ with you before, but for the sake of this article, I thought I would write in.
    I was involved in starting a support group for former LDS in my area (not Idaho) and we had people from various places on the spectrum respond. Some were just inactive and searching. One had turned to New Age beliefs. A few, myself included, had miraculously found the Jesus of the Bible. Our group wasn’t huge, but we were open to discussing whatever anyone wanted to discuss. The first several meetings were just getting to know each other and sharing the hurts we were each feeling over the lies we had been taught by the LDS Church. Eventually, everyone decided that the best thing we could do was to start studying the Bible and see what it had to say. The New Age member was uninterested and quit coming. Everyone else was very blessed by the chance to study the Bible without Mormon “blinders” on.
    I agree with you that many people when they discover that the LDS Church is not true will turn their anger and disillusionment on God instead of the man-made religion that deceived them. It is soooooo important for people to hear that the Bible is not where the errors are and that Jesus is not the one deceiving people. The reason web pages like exmormon.com and postmormon.org sometimes get really negative is because they are mourning their losses instead of rejoicing in the truth they have found. For a Christ centered support group, former or inactive Mormons should go to http://www.irr.org and click on support group. The group is called Mormons in Transition and there is very little negativity going on there.

    In Christ,
    Tasha

  10. The story of my (bad) experiences on BOTH ExMormon.org and PostMormon.org site is lengthy. However, I’ll just cut to the summation:

    My one “wish” for both ExMormon.org and PostMormon.org it would be that they would exercise full disclosure on their true agenda – which appears to be to convert True Believing Mormons into True Believing Atheists. (And if they catch a few Christians in the same spiritually nihilistic net, so much the better!)

    I agree with Sharon Lindbloom of Mormonism Research Ministry (MRM) who, writing about PostMormon.org in particular, blogged:

    “I love the idea of available support for people struggling with the problems they encounter in questioning or leaving Mormonism, but PostMormon.org seems to be throwing the baby out with the bath water. Truth is freely available to all; yet the ability to know the truth is not an illusion. By embracing this ideology PostMormon.org is merely replacing one deception with another.”
    (http://blog.mrm.org/2007/04/validating-post-mormons/)

    SO, UNLESS YOU’RE CALLED DON’T GO!
    As for me, I have left and I have shaken the dust of both exmormon.org and http://www.PostMormon.org off my sandals (Matthew 10:11-15). I advise other Christians to not make the same mistake that I did — twice.

    These non-Christian, ExMormon sites are simply NOT safe places for people of faith! So unless God calls you there, don’t go! There are much better, healthier, and safer ways to learn the truth about Mormon History and Culture and find a way out of Mormonism than these sites.

    Well known Mormon Research, Sandra Tanner referred me to this one and it looks excellent: http://www.irr.org/mit/mentors.html

Leave a Reply

