The Antidote to External Creedal Christianity

“Today we have substituted creedal belief for personal belief, and that is why so many are devoted to causes and so few devoted to Jesus Christ.  People do not want to be devoted to Jesus, but only to the cause He started.  Jesus Christ is the source of deep offence to the educated mentality of today that does not want Him in any other way than as comrade.  The Lord’s first obedience was to the will of His Father, not to the needs of men.  The saving of men was the natural outcome of His obedience to His Father.  If I am devoted to the cause of humanity only, I will soon be exhausted, . . . but if I love Jesus personally and passionately, I can serve humanity though men treat me as a door-mat.  The secret of a disciple’s life is devotion to Jesus Christ.”

         Oswald Chambers

HT: Andree Seu

Leave a comment