I thought only McConkie talked about black skin?

Our church family is going through Genesis on Sunday evenings.  We recently discussed Genesis 9 and 10.

And in JST Genesis 7:10, Smith writes:

And there was a blackness came upon all the children of Canaan, that they were despised among all people.

Reading through the JST, so many things are new to me.

Do LDS today interpret “blackness” as black skin or a black heart?  Probably the latter, eh?  Especially in light of this new LDS film on black Mormons.

Yet many things are problematic to me over what the LDS prophet, Joseph Smith, has done to the text of Genesis.

5 comments

  1. Todd–lelt me extend you a personal invitation to view the film _Nobody Knows: The Untold Story of Black Mormons_. There is such a rich heritage of Black pioneers who settled in Idaho Falls and surrounding areas that we really should have some folks from Idaho in the audience. I’ll invite my I.F. family too. Let’s compete and see if we can get more Mormons or Evangelicals to the screening. You might be surprised by how forthright we are in this film. It will undoubtedly spur discussion, but it might also aid understanding.
    When: Saturday March 8th
    Where: Egyptian Theater, Ogden , Utah
    as part of the Foursite Film Festival

    See http://www.foursitefilmfestival.com .

Leave a comment